Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

1:3.5 Slingsby Sedbergh T21b Build (Chris Williams Design)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1:3.5 Slingsby Sedbergh T21b Build (Chris Williams Design)

I've been an R/C modeler for 26+ years and most of that time was building .40-.60 size sport kits with a few ARF's and a couple of scratch builds. About 6 years ago I flew my first glider, the Radian, and was immediately hooked on soaring. The Radian led to a Skybench Oly II and then I started a Skybench Skybird (that I still haven't completed). About that time I saw some of Chris Williams videos on Youtube and really wanted a big scale sailplane and Traplet had several of his plans. Something about the T21 drew me to it though, maybe the side-by-side seating, the open cockpit, or the fact that it was a military training aircraft, and I'm a Veteran of the USAF. And it was a bit simpler than the other, beautiful gull-winged birds. So I purchased the plans. Unfortunately things at work, and politics in our club, weren't good at that time so I took a break. In an effort to save money and prepare for job-searching if it came to that (which fortunately it did not), I sold my truck and kept my motorcycle. I was also an apartment dweller which meant building a big scale glider would have been difficult to say the least.

Eventually things got much better for me at work. I got a different position with much less stress - in fact now I get really bored! I bought a house (my first) and last year I bought a used Dodge Caravan. I converted one spare bedroom into my workshop. I made a few false starts on some other R/C projects (most notably a 1:6 Fairey Firefly) and built some model rockets for about nine months, but I recently got the bug to build my big glider finally.

Marc Beaupre at www.scalesailplanekits.com had the cut files to laser cut a short kit for me. I contacted him in July and the first part of August I had my kit.