First time aerotowing...what I need to know

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First time aerotowing...what I need to know

I'll be heading out to Visalia Ca. at the CVRC filed in Dec. I have been flying gliders to jets since 1985. But I am new to towing and need to know what to expect. I know how it works on full scale glider towing and have many hours on the simulator.

But I need to know the procedure for RC. I have been told I use ailerons only to keep in line with the tug. To stay at the same altitude as the tug with elevator. I don't know much more than that.

I'll be using my Seagull Models 3 meter Ka8-B to train on. She has a nose tube and internal servo loop release. The weight of the K8 is 4 pounds.More likely 5 pounds once I get the plane balanced.

I need all the ground school I can get before Dec.

Thanks so much for your help.

Hi Steve,

As you know from full-scale, staying in correct position behind the tow plane is critical. In order to allow more leeway while on tow, R/C tugs typically attach the tow line to a point on top of the fuselage a bit forward of the trailing edge of the wing. This allows the sailplane to make wider excursions without getting into too much trouble.

Because of the tow line location on the tug, the ideal position for the sailplane is directly behind and slightly above the tug. Mostly, very little control input is needed to stay in position. Slight finger pressure up or down on the elevator and slight aileron input to keep your wings level is all it takes. Here, the "less is more" expression applies!

Typically, tug pilots try to make shallow banking turns, but once in a while a sharper bank is necessary. Resist the temptation to bank too steeply while on tow. Banking too steeply can allow the sailplane to turn inside the flight path of the tug and cause the tow line to go slack. Better to keep the sailplane wings more level and allow the tug to pull you around the turn like a water skier behind a boat.