Gyros in towplanes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gyros in towplanes

Gyros were mentioned this past weekend at the Clover Creek aerotow trials. I have no experience in this area but was informed that there are tug pilots who now use them and swear by them.
    So, if you use them, what brands do you use, what do you see in the way of benefits and what axis are affected and what settings are employed if applicable.
    Thanks

While I was at the HH Aerotow....I brought up that very subject to a couple people. I can think of many advantages to using them. Heck...they allow them in scale contests like Top Gun. They do not fly the model...they just smooth things out. Nothing wrong with that during a tow.....especially high up! BTW.....I can think of a few people that I have towed, that I wish had 3-axis gyros on their sailplanes

The options are single axis gyros...like JR and Powerbox make....I'm sure there are others. Powerbox also makes a variety of 3-axis units as well. Obviously the best way to go if you want more than just an aileron or elevator gyro would be one of the Powerbox 3-axis Gyros.

Comment

Asher, like Peter said, this was the topic of discussion at dinner one night. Rick Shelby was telling us about the gyro setup in his Pawnee.
      The one he was using was the Powerbox i-gyro it's a three axis system, easy to use and quite compact.
      After hearing all the good reports on this unit I went ahead and ordered one. The unit came right from Germany and I saved almost $100 on it. The setup in my H9 Decathlon was pretty straight forward, although it took a little while to get everything the way I wanted it. Sometimes the geeky stuff slows me down, but in the end it took about 2 hours.
      At the field , final calibration was set and double checked. Since you can have three separate flight modes, (off- ). (on - wings and elev dampening) and heading hold