Need info on three five meter scale sailplanes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need info on three five meter scale sailplanes

I am doing my research on buying a 5 meter scale sailplane before taking the plunge. I looked at planes on the Soaring USA site and saw three at similar price points: ASG 29, ASW 28 and the Ventus 2AX. I've been flying RC for 45 years, the last twenty flying open class thermal duration with Xplorer's, Perfection's etc., so I am not too concerned about the difficulty flying one of the three I mentioned above. I can't find details of who makes the planes so I can read online reviews. Does anyone have specific info on any of the three? I am most interested in which thermals the best, fit, finish, etc.
    Thanks in advance !

The gang there is pretty good about providing information. You might want to give him a call and see if you can get a bit more recon. Knowing the source really helps as many of us here have owned a range of makers and can provide much more insight. Used Let, KV, HF, EMS and others are good offerings at the +/- $3k range. Even though I’ve become a 6meter+ snob, I just built the KV Duo Discus X and it is excellent.

At a very surface level, the Ventus 2cx is probably your best bet for an overall plane. It also appears to have a more robust joiner system than the 28 from what I can see on SUSA site.

You should also give Etienne at ICARE a call and see what in stock he’s willing to make a deal on. Many of us have enjoyed great relationships with him.
    Team PowerBox Systems Americas... If flying were the language of men, soaring would be its poetry.

Comment

Hoot,

I own both the ASG 29 and the Ventus 2AX. The manufacturer, I believe, is HF (don't ask me what that stands for). Many others own the Ventus and Etienne told me not to long ago,that the Ventus was one of SUSA's top scale sellers.