Potted Nose Weight

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Potted Nose Weight

This is my first time to try the lead shot potted in with epoxy method of balancing a glider in a confined volume. The pictures below show my installation. I hope to use the area around my tow release first to pot in the primary nose weight. But, I’m not sure how much to pour in or mix up. Not being a math wiz calculating the amount of shot required is out of the question…how many balls fit in a cylinder? YIKES!

The first shot shows the area around the barrel of the tow release I plan to fill. This glider according to my research can have the CG up to about 5 mm aft of stock. I need to get about 18.5 oz. in the nose to achieve that. Behind of the open cylinder that the tow release is installed in are some open bays which I may need to use for overflow and initial ballast to get to the recommended factory CG. Any comments on how to best do this, ideas or pit falls to avoid will be appreciated.
    Mark

One tip I'll offer is to pot less than you think you will need. Especially if the model is unflown. It is far easier to add more weight than to remove what is epoxied in.

But if worst comes to worst and it comes out nose heavy, only a small amount of weight (by comparison) needs to be added to the tail.

I will set the model up on it's balance point, then add lead shot to a paper cup taped on the nose. Remember, the weight of the epoxy should be considered too.

Comment