ASH-31 Retract Repair

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ASH-31 Retract Repair

I've been flying my H Model 40% ASH-31 for about 4 years now. At close to 50 lbs the retract takes a lot of force on take-offs and particularly on the landings.

The airframe has a very robust retract unit with a friction brake as well. 2 servos are used for this, one for the retract mechanism and the other for the brake. These are mounted onto the sides of the retract plates using carbon fiber/fiberglass/resin servo mounts. The one for the brake is not put under a great amount of stress, but the retract servo and its mount do take quite a bit of force.

The resin mount for the retract servo gave way while I was in Cumberland, giving me a great opportunity to make a new one. The forward arm of the mount failed where the screws that hold the servo go through. Please note this is not due to any issue with the workmanship of the airframe or the servo frame, but rather my use and wear due to 4 years of take-offs and landings.

Here are a couple pictures of the resin mount (you can see the cracks on the second picture on the arm on the left):

Click image for larger version  Name:	02.jpg Views:	1 Size:	144.5 KB ID:	18482

Click image for larger version  Name:	01.jpg Views:	1 Size:	107.5 KB ID:	18483

I picked up some right angle aluminum stock from Online Metals:

They sell stock in small to large sizes, making it easy to get pieces that are only 12" in length. The angle stock I purchased is 2" x 2" x 0.1875" thickness:

Click image for larger version  Name:	03.jpg Views:	1 Size:	127.5 KB ID:	18484

I was very fortunate a year or so ago to have a friend offer me a Sherline metal lathe and metal mill. This was a perfect time to get them out to create a new mount for the retract servo:

Click image for larger version  Name:	04.jpg Views:	1 Size:	67.2 KB ID:	18485